Anonymous Reacts to Africa’s Brain Drain With Uncommon Honesty and Courage

I just received the comment below to my recent post on Africa’s brain drain debate. The writer who chose not to reveal his/her identity had such a visceral and honest reaction that I wish I millions of people could read it. Anonymous, please reveal yourself and tell us more!

Survival first is the most real of all human existence.

Money, but not patriotism pays the bills.
What is often laughable is it is the same beggars in government that have the temerity to label acts of sacrifice by Kenyans …brain drain.

Some go as far as saying they don’t understand how someone will leave a good job in Kenya to go and wipe arse in America.

Well the answer is plain and simple.
Wiping arse in America pays me 10-fold what the paltry pennies in Kenya did.
Wiping arse in America has given me an opportunity that those beggars in government stole.
A chance to be somebody.
Wiping arse in America pays the bills and restores dignity to my family.
Wiping arse in America keeps my younger sibling well provided for so she doesn’t have to go the streets to get it.

While banking in Kenya what did I ever have?
Paltry wages, strained family relations, hopelessness and the list is endless.

Yes I wipe arse in America.
Yes I also don’t think the bank suffered very much when my behind left my position in the words of my boss … you leave, we hire someone else.

Well understood.

Unlike the people in the Kenya government I hate handouts. I hate pity. I hate pretending. I hate stealing from others to build myself.

I love to work with my hands, break my back and at the end of the day see the toils of my labour pay off.

Me and many like myself are the true patriots of Kenya.
We didn’t leave her or sit back and feel sorry for her.
We knew that we make her.
We knew that when we are better than she is better.
Unlike those taking comfort in appearing in infomercials about Kibera begging for food while there is plenty in Kenya to feed us for years to come.
The donations that are given go straight to that fat white woman’s pocket and that nasty funky looking meero who can’t wait for another summit on the brain drain being a bigger threat than AIDS in Africa.

We choose to hide Kenya’s nakedness by the little differences we make in our own way.
Kenya knows that and appreciates it.
That for me is enough.

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

2 Responses to Anonymous Reacts to Africa’s Brain Drain With Uncommon Honesty and Courage

  1. Wambui says:

    Anonymous
    I couldn’t agree more. In addition, have you ever thought of the sheer arrogance implict in the idea of the brain drain? It suggests that we who are abroad, unpatriotic, servile, and idiots that we are, are nevertheless the best that Kenya has to offer. Which means that the folks left behind in Kenya are what? Dregs? The Unchosen? The Leavings? Those Not Good Enough? Truly, it is quite disgusting if looked at this way. I’ve never understood why people at home stand for this insulting concept of brain drain, when they know quite well that they are as good, if not better, than anyone who happens to reside abroad.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Well folks thanks alot for appreciating my mad rantings.

    Like Mato Kima states very clearly it is not that the people at home are any better it is fits the Kenyan beggars that they have something to talk about.
    Something that Debra Sainapei can wonder about.

    Well myself am out of the clear.
    Proud that am Patient Care Assistant, proud that I beg nobody for nothing.

    That is what to me it means to be somebody.
    To be Kenyan.
    To be African.

    When am blessed with a body that is fit and healthy I mock God by staging scenarios that make me look otherwise.

    As always we must choose which paths we take in life for those out there like me.
    Aluta continua .

    My name is Fiona.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

