Escape to Accra

flag.jpg

Accra is my new favorite place. Got here yesterday morning and instantly fell in love with the place. The warmth, the openness, the constant positive references to Africa, it’s too much so now I must find some way to spend more time here. On Thursday evening I went from the airport in Nairobi to a dinner in the course of which a mad plot was hatched to get up the next morning and go to Jomo Kenyatta Airport and buy a ticket to Accra. In the last 48 hours I have been to Johannesburg, Nairobi and now Accra. Verdict? Accra is so much easier to enjoy and the people – seriously and not just to throw around cliches – are just so friendly and open to outsiders – very different from my experience down South and of course in the ‘new’ Kenya. More stuff coming up on this visit if only as an interlude from the bleak posts on Kenya that have dominated lately.

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

4 Responses to Escape to Accra

  1. dd says:

    Thank you for confirming what I had noticed. From some out here in the States, the outsourcing boom might just head there, instead of Kenya. I have noticed they have less rancous politicians, and the politicians get it. Yours is not the first observation. Another good thing about Accra it does not have the Nairobi crime!!! They do not have the silly political thugs for hire who ran rampant in Nairobi.

  2. Anon says:

    A people (community) who generally more humble and grounded has a lot to do with their maintanance of their native cultural and spritual heritage; some West African cultures as well as Asian cultures have done this. Ghanaians for the most part have maintained their cultural heritage even with the rampant spread of mainstream/institutionalized evangelical Christianity. In Kenya, we have for the most part, divorsed ourselves from our TRUE individual heritage out of fear. A grounded and spiritual person will have no problem embracing their culture and acknowledging that it not “greater than” another culture. In Kenya we have learned to shun our heritage in the name of “development” with this comes a level of disregard for another human life which leads to theft, murder, hatred etc. just my thoughts… please enjoy Ghana while you are there and if you get a chance please find out (if you don’t already know about it) from a local person, preferably an elder about the adinkra symbol Sankofa. This, I believe is one of the many ways Kenya can begin the painful process of healing.
    Peace and Blessings
    Amondi

  3. Ramon Thomas says:

    Please get in touch with my friend Henry Addo because he is one of the most prolific bloggers in Accra and a TEDGlobal 2007 Fellow. I asked him to contact you as well because I know you can learn a lot from each other. Wish I was there with you.

  4. Henry Addo says:

    Hello, Like Ramon said, I’m a blogger living in Accra. Feel free to contact me for anything. Looking forward to connect with you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

