Bob Geldof lets out the strange mix of profanity and plea making that has become his signature tune. Whenever I catch these so called Africa saviours on TV, the urgency of their appeals and the faux concern they exude always leaves me enraged. They use African poverty and suffering like a prop for already over-large egos. We are helpless beings who cannot survive without the concern of an Elton John (in the background) or a Geldof who has not written a hit song in a decade and yet can save Africa.  Posted by Hello

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

5 Responses to

  1. mshairi says:

    Not so long ago (early this year if I remember correctly), Bob Geldolf was quoted as saying he was tired of Africa (and its problems, by extension). What has changed him mind?

  2. Mac Daddy says:

    To put it mildly Geldof and his crew are a complete set of egotistical tossers, who are just after record sales nothing more nothing less. How this motley crew can actually save Africa is beyond me as they don’t seem to have any idea of what the continent is about, it’s big, it’s diverse and you cannot solve it’s problems overnight. In fact my belief you need to pick a country and let have all the help it needs to get it’s goods to market in the west and stop the west from dumping it’s excess products in the developing world.

  3. macca says:

    I wish Westerners would just leave Africa alone. It was Western nations that colonised and ruined African communities for their own material profit. This has continued for centuries up to the present day. The problem is NOT Africa – it is the West. Materialism is the most destructive force in human history. We should no longer try to change the world for our own benefit. We must realise that we are powerless to alter the inevitable destiny of all things.

  4. Anonymous says:

    i find macca’s comment really interesting. I am wondering: do you include in our ‘powerlessness’ developments in pharmaceuticals to prevent and cure malaria, TB, polio and the like? and what about the developments in human knowledge about bacteria and hygiene which can simply and effectively prevent deaths from dysentry and food poisoning? As a woman, I must confess I readily embrace a materialism that will give my chidlren the best chance of reachng the age of five and me surving to care for them. I’m not certain that materialism must always be despised. But I don’t claim to have thought it all through -I would really appreciate your response
    pb

  5. MMK says:

    @Mshairi – you are right. Geldof does this whole ‘tough love’ thing that covers up the fact that his dead career is receiving a boost from suffering Africans.

    @Mac Daddy, Macca and Anonymous – My sense is that one needs to own their problem to solve it. It really is that simple and difficult depending on how you look at it. I have become cynical enough to always assume that the Western response will mostly be a bunch of rot and have been left with the burning question of what we should do for ourselves. The reason I loathe aid so much is that it attempts to steal people’s problems from them, thus robbing them of their very humanity. If the problem is not yours, then neither is the solution or any claims you can make for you own humanity.

Leave a Reply

