Are the Lovers of Harry Potter Narcissists?

This is the question that Spengler asks in an Asian Times review of the latest Harry Potter installment – Half Blood Prince (which incidentally I hope you buy using the link to Amazon on this page…)

Spengler has this to say to those such as myself who love the Harry Potter series:

“It may seem counter-intuitive, but complacency is the secret attraction of J K Rowling’s magical world. It lets the reader imagine that he is something different, while remaining just what he is. Harry (like young Skywalker) draws his superhuman powers out of the well of his “inner feelings”. In this respect Rowling has much in common with the legion of self-help writers who advise the anxious denizens of the West. She also has much in common with writers of pop spirituality, who promise the reader the secret of inner discovery in a few easy lessons.”

Read on the for rest of this fascinating review: Spengler

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

6 Responses to Are the Lovers of Harry Potter Narcissists?

  1. Ms K says:

    Call me whatever you want lakini I’m a Harry Potter fan!! Can’t wait to read Half-blood Prince!

  2. MMK says:

    Ms k – you are clearly one of the decadent ones that Spengler is talking about 🙂 I must say that I cannot wait to read the book either. Once I get started on one, I cannot even sleep before I have finished it. But having said all that, I still regard the Lord of the Rings as far and away the best fantasy novel I have ever read.

  3. WM says:

    I am clearly a narcisssist because I love Harry Potter. Sigh.

  4. Ro Halfhide says:

    I must say I do get bored sometimes by the HP books. The plot can be a bit linear, indeed resembling a rollercoaster ride…
    Great find though, this Spengler type.

  5. Jessika says:

    I’ve read the whole series and am working on the new book. I think that it is wonderful.

  6. Candace says:

    Spengler can count me in as dull & boring, I’m a fan.

    Why can’t a book just be read for pleasure? Does everything have to educate? Sheesh.

    And I agree that Lord of the Rings is above & beyond the best fantasy I’ve read, the Potter series is an excellent one for it’s target audience, i.e. children. That adults can enjoy it is a bonus.

Leave a Reply

