Wales: Guess What I was Doing…



When not blogging, this is what I do in the Welsh countryside: wear stupid looking helmets and swing around on wires. This was a corporate retreat and we were doing the skytrek where you get transported for 2km high above the ground from platform to platform hitched to a wire. Then we did an ‘assault’ course and climbed a massive hill where a sheep actually charged us. All the while I kept feeling that my outfit – which is worn by a tank crew – was terribly fashionable and could start a whole new trend if I wore it in London or New York. After the swinging, which involved some moment of terror and burnt palms, it was time to pitch tents for the night. As a city man through and through, I was like a fish out of water and kept wondering why we should choose a cold, damp dwelling when there were perfectly good hotels nearby. A colleague and I then started a snoring war that actually kept the whole tent awake and drove one delicate soul to seek shelter in the truck. What a softie says I. The next morning we headed to the River Wye for a few hours of kayaking. Now as is well known (or at least became well known following my whiney excuses that I needed to stay on the riverbank and read) getting a land lubber like myself into a boat is not the easiest of tasks. Of course like everything I have ever been reluctant to try, it was enormously enjoyable. The thing that made the whole weekend special was that I actually like every single person I work with. Yes, I do, and it never ceases to surprise me what with the cynicism toward offices that I developed in my former job before I made the jump to academia. Now that I have camped, climbed a hill and a small rock face, I have decided to move to the next level: yes sir, next time I am home, I am going to drag myself out of the lovely Nairobi and attempt to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro. Watch this space.

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

15 Responses to Wales: Guess What I was Doing…

  1. Hoots says:

    This is a terrific blog. Keep up the good work. Your instincts about what to say and what to leave unsaid strike me as a literary gift.
    I just found you thanks to Scott Ferguson. The blogosphere has produced its second great impresario and he’s a lot more fun than the insta-first because he’s into quality as well as numbers.
    (Don’t try to post too often, by the way. I already have too much to read and I don’t want to miss what you are doing.)

  2. MMK says:

    Hoots – Thank you so much. Your comment has brightened a really tough day. On the posting, I actually have come around to the same view that I should post a little less often. Let me visit your house now and see what you are doing… Thanks again.

  3. wanduma says:

    Kijana, you look like pal of mine who landed on an aircraft carrier last year and declared the end of major combat in Iraq. What on earth were you doing? Details man!

  4. Anonymous says:

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  5. Anonymous says:

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  6. Anonymous says:

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  7. Anonymous says:

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  8. Anonymous says:

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  9. Anonymous says:

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  10. akiey says:

    Great way to have fun/work. I would call it ‘adventure without limitations’.
    Nice pics, may be we should have more KBWs braving it & posting pics of themselves too.

  11. Afromusing says:

    lol wanduma!

    MMK, very cool! so what do you call what you were doing? I was thinking base jumping but i dont see a base.

  12. Afromusing says:

    thanks for the explanation..now about the kilimanjaro…hebu let me know coz that is on my list of things to do real soon.

  13. Prousette says:

    skytrekking interesting.
    What about those with fear of heights.
    Yes try the Kilimanjaro and live to tell.

  14. Admin says:

    Wow, what a great site. I will bookmark this site and return often. It’s nice to see sites like this.

    Please visit my website and let me know what you think. Disney Tickets

  15. If you klimb Kili I will be waiting for you at the peak with a six-pack of beers. Let me know when you are going!

Leave a Reply

