Goosie goosie gander where shall I wander? To MMK’s belly?

Well, say it then, what did you do on Christmas day? At the last minute, having expected to have a quiet day, I decided to go the whole nine yards and engage in a feasting, gifting orgy. As usual the rush of the mob took me headlong with it and I was unable to resist the million ads and Santas lurking around every corner eyeing my wallet. On Saturday, there I was elbowing aside little old ladies at Borough Market to buy the last wild goose that was large enough and expensive enough to feed a small town. Having just re-watched some episodes of Brideshead Revisited, which in case you did not know is one long ode to alcohol consumption, I bought several bottles of suspiciously cheap champagne in keeping with my principles of quantity over quality and form over function.

For dinner we baked the wild goose marinated in tangerines, strawberries, red onions, garlic and clove powder among other spices. Then brown basmati rice; a sweet potato and leeks stuffing; spinach with mushrooms; a moist carrot cake made with dark sugar; all washed down with champagne. Is that a feast or is it a feast? I am so impressed with myself and I hope that my mother reads this post so that she can see that her son does more than fry eggs and toast bread.

In any case, visitors to ABH, I wish you a happy 2006. May your plans and dreams be realised or come much closer to fruition. Thank you for hanging with me.

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

6 Responses to Goosie goosie gander where shall I wander? To MMK’s belly?

  1. Keguro says:

    I am currently suffering the after-effects of too much rum-soaked cake and sorrel (?) wine.

    Jamaicans are deadly!

    (And lovely)

  2. stonelifter says:

    merry ho ho to you martin,may you write many more interesting articles in the new year-aaron

  3. WM says:

    What? No doggy bag for me???

  4. WM says:

    Where did you get that recipe?

  5. MMK says:

    keguro – You know, I have eaten rum-soaked cake and wanted to like it. Desperately wanted to make those satisfied sounds one makes with each bite, but alas. Are you in Jamaica?

    Stonelifter – have a happy 2006. Hope that you made a million bucks in 2005 and that even as we speak a cheque is on its way to me.

    WM – As for you, how can you ask me where I found the recipe when you know I walk around with a thousand of them in my head? No doggy bag for you!

  6. Keguro says:

    Not in Jamaica.

    In the company of friends who make me feel like I’m in Jamaica.

    I eat all sorts of cake. The very name “cake” makes everything taste good.

    I skulk around strangers’ weddings just to get some cake.

    And now I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

