And then I woke up in Amsterdam


Your friendly blogger has been in the Netherlands for the past couple of hours after a long sleepy flight from Addis Ababa. How surreal it is to step off a plane a few hours later and be somewhere so different from where I left. I have never gotten over the feeling that flying is magical. It is probably because of my deep ignorance of all matters relating to physics and anything with the slightest mechanical function. All I know is that I am in a metal tube full of very heavy people that somehow is making its way through the heavens. How amazing is that?

Amsterdam feels so still, so ordered. Are its differences compared to an Addis or a Nairobi merely a matter of wealth in one and not the others? Blogging at an internet cafe next to a ‘coffeeshop’ from which is wafting the smell of marijuana. It is one of the reasons I love Amsterdam: they know people smoke pot and so why not just legalise it and limit where it can be smoked? It is a policy that I think can only arise from a people who have divorced themselves from grand utopian visions and whose moral concern is focused on the individual and not the group. Having said all that, I do not think I would much enjoy living here. The place of dark-skinned folks like me seems distressingly low. Also, it might be the hour of day but the few Dutch I have encountered today seem ruder than I remember them. Let me walk a few cobblestones though before I make any conclusions.

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

6 Responses to And then I woke up in Amsterdam

  1. Zephyr says:

    Even in Amsterdam, don’t change your dealer. Please visit a brothel for us and give us the low-down on their management and marketing strategy. Always wanted to be ‘Madame Zephyr’. As in a nice exclusive place where the guys have their specific as opposed to just wholesale needs catered for. You fill in a form and we give you the best of who we have in those departments sort of thing. Think it is too ahead for Nairobi?

  2. AK says:

    Welcome to Amsterdam!

    Marijuana smells sweeter than cigarettes, right?

    Definitely not a darkie place but ignore the Dutch rudeness, they actually beleive they are being polite…by being rude! twisted!

  3. MMK says:

    madame zephyr – it has a ring to it. But since the red light district is legal, I wonder if they need madams and pimps. I shall undertake – for the sake of my dear readers – to determine the marketing strategies used in this fair town by the people who will committ the sin that dare not speak its name. Nairobi is far more sinful and decadent than is Amsterdam. That is why it is so overtly religious while covertly…

  4. Zephyr says:

    The brothels must have someone who runs them, seeing as the employees should be having their minds on baser things, hehe… Just see what you cancome up with for us…

  5. Patrick Lee says:

    I love Holland and Amsterdam. Unfortunately, my time there was
    brief…I was running away from my German wife….lol…I found the
    people in the Amsterdam area quite friendly, however Iam mostly
    white looking(part Native American Indian); light brown to blond
    hair but with ruddy skin; I tan nicely!! I suppose though that I would
    revert to a lilly white if I spent a year in any part of northern Europe, due to the numerous cloudy/rain-soaked days.(I currently
    live in Las Vegas). I really have a love-hate relationship(mostly hate) with Las Vegas; it is to me at least, devoid of any real substantive culture.

    Seriously though, I hope to return to Europe someday, especially
    Amsterdam, where people do not walk through life with their
    head in the sand….I just can’t believe that Americans are still
    so self-righteous, with all the problems here. Justice here is
    not necessarily the best, i.e.– throwing people in jail on drug
    possesion charges but letting corrupt politicians walk.

    Amsterdamers and most other Europeans are much more
    enlightened on social issues and Americans are the “Great
    Pretenders.

  6. Mike says:

    Amsterdamers and most other Europeans are much more
    enlightened on social issues and Americans are the “Great
    Pretenders. Yes!

Leave a Reply

