Destination Djibouti

My brother and I have been in Djibouti for the past six hours or so and I am already in love with the city. In the first place, after more than fifteen winters in the US and the UK, there is nothing I enjoy better than extreme, humid heat. To celebrate, I foolishly went out for a run this afternoon in the 40 degrees plus heat. Of course after a few steps, I settled on a sluggish walk about the city. It is beautiful: Moorish architecture, wide, clean streets and a long, curving driveway along a beautiful Red Sea beach. How strangely the future can turn out. If you had told me that I would be here six months ago I would have said you were insane. I am here with my brother who is all of 22 years old and studying astrophysics just outside London. He is one of the better travel companions I have ever had even though he keeps trying to get me to understand why string theory should excite me when I cannot even get beyond the fulcrum. But he makes such a good counterpoint to me on the road with his soft touch and polite manner when I can sometimes tend to be a bit barky and anxious. We are here through Thursday and I am already sorry to be leaving. More details tomorrow and possibly even some photos.

48 Hours and Counting

Ok, I have been in town for the last two days and I am hoping that I could spend a lot more time here in the future. I just returned from having an amazing dinner at a restaurant called 7 Freres. Our host recommended we have fresh fish baked in a clay oven and smeared in spices and lemon. On the side was roti bread, honey and pounded, ripe banana which we washed down with cold beer. Then we followed a huge crowd making its way to the People’s Palace (if I remember the name right) where there is an open air concert being held by a Congolese lingala band.

Djibouti is a country that feels like it is on the brink of getting wealthy. One of its great boons is the standoff between Eritrea and Ethiopia which has made the latter unwilling or able to use its traditional Eritrean port. Perhaps more importantly, the government officials with whom I have had a chance to interact seem keenly conscious of their duty to facilitate the trading desire of their people and take advantage of the country’s strategic position in the Red Sea. Then the large French and American military bases are a huge revenue earner though there is clearly a social price being paid by having thousands of heavily muscled, horny and aggressive young men with money rampaging about.

More later…

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

9 Responses to Destination Djibouti

  1. Anonymous says:

    Kimani,
    You have to stop this around-the-world-in-two-weeks-hop-hopping behaviour.
    Can you pls come back to LDN and stop this nonsense?! LSE bar is doing 2-4-1 throughout World Cup Season.Catch you on Houghton Str? It’s as good an end-destination as any other.
    LoL
    +Facing Mt.Kenya+

  2. MMK says:

    who is this who dares suggest I leave Djibouti to drink at a bar in the LSE? You must be someone I like enough to do something that crazy. and if you are indeed Facing Mt Kenya then I know who you are and will be on the first flight out of here πŸ™‚

  3. Zephyr says:

    Found your blog only a month or so ago but I am definitely hooked, to the way you write but most of all I am envious of your around-the-world-in-two-weeks-hop-hopping behaviour or is it nonsense?? Anonymous, let the man be. We desk-bound types are currently living vicariously in all those places through him.
    So, I have been working my way through your posts, in no particular order, just whatever catches my fancy as I scroll through the old posts. Keep writing, we enjoy it. Am even telling my friends about you… shocking!!! You still haven’t gotten back to me on my ‘Madame Zephyr’ venture

  4. MMK says:

    zephyr – you want me to unleash the full force of my decadence online? Well, you asked for it. I shall address this matter of your proposal in an upcoming post on the importance of shame (in my view) within Ethiopian society and how it is a force even among those of the night professions. Thanks by the way on being so complimentary. It is people like you who make me trapped within blogging! And so thanks but no thanks πŸ™‚

  5. Rista says:

    The pics, the pics… where are the promised pictures? Please make sure they include the tanned “thousands of heavily muscled, horny and aggressive young men with money”, especially since the lengthening soccer shorts and boring official world cup pics are denying us such views.

  6. Zephyr says:

    Did you say “thousands of heavily muscled, horny and aggressive young men with money”? How can that be a bad thing? Rampaging!!!? Yaani, am sure there are many women, oops, people who had a frisson of …… go down their spines at that, who were then severely tempted to hop onto the next mode of transport there to find out just how ‘heavily muscled’and how horny. Bring it on….

  7. gishungwa says:

    Word on the grapevine is that you need a maid to help you scrub your back so i figured that means i get to travel with you. I love your decription of the places you visit i can see it in my mind…
    So wat about that job, have a coupla references

  8. Zephyr says:

    Hi, I protest. Yes, I know you are a busy man and all that. However, we are starving for that taste of whatever it is that your writing does for us. Two weeks, two weeks my brother, surely… get us out of our misery…. Write something. Where is the decadence you promised us,and the photos of those rich, muscle bound young men?

  9. Anonymous says:

    Hi

    Have just found this blog, and liked it. I have just Discover The Power Of Blogging and will visit this blog again in the future.

Leave a Reply

