Bullets & Honey Closed…

Just got back to Addis with a bag of 2007 resolutions, one which is to temporarily close down African Bullets & Honey for a few months. Yes, I am running a stake through the heart of this monster until I can find more time to dedicate to it.

If you feel like taking over it for six months, then just write to me at bulletsandhoney at googlemail.com so that we can get something sorted.

If you have never been to Lamu on the Kenyan coast, then pack your bags and head there. I spent a week in this most beautiful of coastal towns alongside writers and editors attending the Kwani Literary Festival. Things were smoked, others drank and a 24-hour dhow trip to Pate Island made. I came back from a week of not even bothering to read a newspaper to find that Ethiopia had chased the Islamic Courts out of Mogadishu and that Saddam Hussein had been executed in a particularly thuggish manner. So much to blog about but alas…

Next on the menu for this son of the soil is my very first visit to Dubai and India next week and then a few days in South Africa. Of course as all this is happening, I will be struggling to finish my thesis. After all the happy procrastination, I now have exactly nine months to get it done and submitted. So some sacrifices have to be made; one of them – happily for me – is the ravenous, inconsiderate and always hungry for more Bullets & Honey.

Thanks for visiting.

About bulletsandhoney
I read my first book when I was three, then my second one a few weeks later. It has carried on this way for decades with only temporary distractions of eating, fighting, loving, heartbreak and other such irrelevant biographical details.

11 Responses to Bullets & Honey Closed…

  1. bankelele says:

    Good luck in 2007 with you travels & plans – hope you fnd a worthy successor. Why not Binyavinga?

  2. Palesa says:

    You’ll be missed. I do hope your absence will not become permanent. I seem to have lost all my favorite bloggers in the past couple of months.

    Good luck with your thesis.

  3. Chebet says:

    No… No…. Please no! What do you mean? Some of us have grown accustomed (sp?) to your blog. Anyway, best of luck in the future and hope to hear from you again soon.

  4. Ah, Lamu! That was honeymoon time 4 years back. Thank you for reminding me (again). We stayed at the extremely primitive resort at the southern end of the island. See: http://wannaresolution.blogspot.com/2006/10/kizingo-and-kipungani.html

    No word yet on whether they are interested in an internet connection…and why would they be?

    I’ll keep an eye on your feed…

  5. Flotsam says:

    Good luck and I hope you’ll be back to the blog. I’ll keep it in my RSS reader just in case.

  6. Bathus says:

    Good luck with your writing. I know how difficult that can be.

    Here’s a story that cuts close to home in several ways:

    At a U2 concert in Dublin, Bono asks the audience for some quiet. Then in the silence, he starts to slowly clap his hands. Holding the audience in total silence, he says into the microphone: “Every time I clap my hands, a child in Africa dies.”

    A voice from the crowd pierces the silence: “[Expletive] stop doing it then!”

  7. Kamau says:

    Kada!! good luck, puch them in the mouth kick much ass and take all kinds of names.

  8. alexcia says:

    What, if i may enquire, is your thesis about?
    You shall be missed!!

  9. Bill says:

    Also good luck with your thesis and career from this end. I have been (desperately) searching for a 2005/2006 post by you that referenced a book by Dr. Kate Lowe and T.F. Earle, Black Africans in the Renaissance. Can’t find it on any of your blogs or at Google search. Wanted to review your writing again and give credit where credit is due. If you have the time and can help, please let me know by dropping me a note.

    Best Regards,
    BRE @ Jewels in the Jungle

  10. kpd says:

    ok, its been six months. *nudge nudge*

  11. Anna says:

    Great site! Any chance of a comeback in the near future?

Leave a Reply

